Development strategy

Becoming a reference in Africa

Eranove group has embarked on a new growth phase to increase the added values of its know-how and the resulting performances.

By concentrating on its two core businesses: public service management (electricity, potable water, sewage, transport, etc.) and electricity and potable water production, eranove Group commits itself to facing the challenges of growth in Africa.

Its priorities: to strengthen its presence on the African continent, to become an international reference, an exemplary actor in terms of public service management and electricity and potable water production.

Quality public services

According to UNO-Habitat figures, Africa’s urban population is going to double before 2030.
This urbanisation is accompanied by a growing middle class that consumes goods and services.
In this context investment is required in the infrastructures that are needed to improve living conditions in urban areas.

As early as 1987 eranove was able to gain the trust of the governments of Côte d’Ivoire and Senegal.
SODECI, CIE and SDE have proposed innovating solutions and technologies for electricity and potable water production. Recognised for the quality of their commitment to civil society, SDE and CIPREL are amongst the rare companies to have reached the confirmed level under the ISO 26000 standard in sub-Saharan Africa.

Eranove Group defends a high ideal of public service and permanently strives in favour of the well-being of populations. Thus, for example, Eranove Group accompanied the government of Côte d’Ivoire during the successive crises that have shaken the country, by maintaining distribution of water and electricity for the population, businesses and public services.

Meeting an increasing demand for electricity and potable water

According to World Bank and United Nations studies, electricity production in the interconnected network should increase by 9% per year in West Africa, and by 7% in Central Africa until 2020 if it is to cover peak demands (respectively ~19,000 MW and 7,900 MW in 2020).

As for potable water, globally daily needs for water are generating increasing competition between cities, farmers, industry, energy suppliers and ecosystems. Target 7.C of the Millennium Development Targets (MDT) is to “reduce by half the percentage of the world population that does not have sustainable access to basic potable water and sewage treatment services by 2015″ (source: OECD perspectives 2050).

In sub-Saharan Africa the estimated level of investment required would be 40.8 billion USD per year for electricity infrastructures and 21.9 billion USD per year for water and sewage infrastructure (source: UNO, Public-Private Partnerships, 2011).

Eranove Group, through the skills of its subsidiaries of Côte d’Ivoire CIPREL (432 MW thermal power station (gas turbine) + 111MW steam turbine under construction) and CIE (operator of 6 hydro-electric sites, a gas fired power station and sixty isolated thermal power stations) is studying new electricity production projects in order to participate in the growth of the continent’s production capacities.

Similarly, the competences of SODECI and SDE make it possible to make concrete and adapted proposals to produce potable water in Africa.

Share:

Stratégie de développement

Devenir une référence sur le continent Africain

Le groupe Eranove entame une nouvelle phase de développement afin d’accroître la valeur ajoutée de ses savoir-faire et la performance qui en découle.

En se concentrant sur ses deux cœurs de métiers : la gestion de service public (électricité, eau potable, assainissement, etc.) et la production d’énergie électrique et d’eau potable, le Groupe Eranove s’engage pour relever les défis de la croissance en Afrique.

Ses priorités : renforcer sa présence sur le continent africain, et devenir une référence internationale, un acteur exemplaire, en termes de gestion des services publics et de production d’électricité et d’eau potable.

Des services publics de qualité

Selon les chiffres de l’ONU-Habitat, la population urbaine de l’Afrique va doubler d’ici 2030. Cette urbanisation s’accompagne d’une augmentation de la classe moyenne, consommatrice de biens et de services. Dans ce contexte, il est nécessaire d’investir dans les infrastructures nécessaires pour améliorer le cadre de vie en zone urbaine.

Dès 1987, Eranove a su gagner la confiance des Etats de Côte d’Ivoire puis du Sénégal. SODECI, CIE et SDE ont proposé des solutions et des technologies innovantes en matière de production d’électricité et de gestion de l’eau potable. Reconnus pour la qualité de son engagement citoyen, SDE et CIPREL font partie des rares entreprises ayant atteint le stade confirmé de la norme ISO 26000 en Afrique subsaharienne.

Le Groupe Eranove défend une haute idée du service public et un souci permanent du bien-être des populations. Ainsi, le Groupe Eranove a par exemple accompagné l’Etat ivoirien dans les crises successives qui ont secoué le pays, en maintenant la distribution de l’eau et de l’électricité aux populations, aux entreprises et aux administrations.

Répondre à une demande croissante en électricité et en eau potable

Selon les études de la Banque Mondiale et des Nations Unies, la production d’électricité pour le réseau interconnecté devrait croître de 9% par an en Afrique de l’Ouest et 7% en Afrique Centrale jusqu’en 2020 pour couvrir la pointe de charge (respectivement, ~19 000 MW et 7 900 MW en 2020).

En ce qui concerne l’eau potable, partout sur la planète, les besoins quotidiens en eau suscitent une concurrence toujours plus vive entre les villes, les agriculteurs, les industries, les fournisseurs d’énergie et les écosystèmes. La cible 7.C des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) est de « réduire de moitié d’ici à 2015 le pourcentage de la population mondiale qui n’a pas accès de façon durable à l’eau potable et à des services d’assainissement de base » (source OCDE perspectives 2050).

En Afrique Sub-Saharienne, le niveau d’investissement nécessaire estimé sera de 40,8 milliards de USD par an pour les infrastructures électriques et de 21,9 milliards de USD par an pour les infrastructures d’eau et d’assainissement (source : ONU, Public-Private Partnerships, 2011).

Le groupe Eranove, fort des compétences de ses filiales ivoiriennes CIPREL (centrale thermique (turbines à gaz) de 432 MW + une turbine vapeur de 111MW en cours de construction) et CIE (opérateur d’un parc de 6 centrales hydro-électriques , d’une centrale thermique à gaz et d’une soixantaine de centrales thermiques isolées) étudie de nouveaux projets de production d’énergie électrique pour participer à l’accroissement des capacités de production sur le continent.

De même, les compétences de la SODECI et de SDE permettent d’apporter des propositions concrètes et adaptées sur la production d’eau potable en Afrique.

Partager: