Emerging Capital Partners

Emerging Capital Partners

Emerging Capital Partners (ECP) is one of the main African investment fund managers, managing over 1.8 billion US dollars of assets. Operating on the African continent since 2001, ECP has created 4 regional funds and 3 Pan-African funds (ECP Africa Fund I, ECP Africa Fund II and Africa ECP Africa Fund III) for development institutions, sovereign funds and private investors.

A privileged knowledge of Africa

ECP has seven African offices (Tunis, Casablanca, Lagos, Abidjan, Nairobi, Johannesburg, Douala) and encompasses over 30 professionals from 10 different countries, all inspired by the same passion for African investment. ECP has made over 50 investments on the continent in over 40 countries, in a wide variety of sectors including energy, consumer goods, telecommunications, financial services, natural resources, agriculture and public services.

ECP’s investment strategy is to identify growing businesses in an environment that has an increasing need for infrastructure in the face of an emerging middle class, and that can benefit from the acceleration of regional integration. For ECP, the opportunity is in the identification of high growth potential businesses which are capable, with ECP’s financial and technical support, of creating added value on the continent, of being at the origin of technical progress, of encouraging the development of technical and managerial skills, or of being the catalyst for the emergence of a class of African entrepreneurs.

ECP, a valuable partner:

  • For governments: to accompany them in projects that structure the economy in the field of infrastructure or public service management. ECP has thus invested in water management and distribution services in Morocco and has participated in the emergence of Celtel, the Pan-African operator.
  • Entrepreneurs seeking capital to finance the growth of their businesses to become national or regional champions. ECP thus financed the regional development of NSIA, the insurance leader which has since become a banking-insurance sector champion. It also supported the financial restructuring of the biggest African sub-Saharan tuna canning plant, Pêche et Froid-SCODI, currently seeking new markets, and steered the turnaround of the Financial Bank which has become Oragroup, present in 6 African countries, and currently showing solid performances.

The differentiating factors for ECP and the keys to the success of its investment strategy are:

  • An in-depth knowledge of the continent, its needs, its risks and its opportunities.
  • A wide network built over the years including Africa’s development partners: development institutions, private investors, merchant banks, public services, politicians…
  • Close collaboration with its companies: ECP’s strong presence on the African continent makes it possible for it to be constantly involved alongside the businesses in its portfolio and to participate in their growth.
  • Professional ethics based on the respect of its commitments to its stockholding partners
  • A corporate social and environmental responsibility policy both in its investments and within its companies: ECP attaches special importance to the fact that its companies and portfolio adopt a good citizen attitude and encourages them to adopt innovating corporate policies such as extended insurance coverage, pension policies, equal opportunities for women, training, etc.

The eranove majority shareholder 

In 2009 ECP Africa Fund II, a 523 million US dollar fund, took control of the eranove group having in mind the will to promote more local shareholders. Thanks to the support of a major financial partner, ECP has structured its investment to buy the Bouygues shares in partnership with local management, employees, and local investors.

The purpose of this purchase was, for ECP, to raise eranove to the leading position in the water and electricity industries in West Africa, and to place its financing expertise and its capacity to mobilise resources at the service of this objective.

The different steps ECP’s plan of action were:

  • To unify employees around an objective and a common vision of which the priorities are the improvement of the quality of service, customer satisfaction, increased output, the fight against fraud, and the pursuit of social cohesion and sustainable development policies
  • To build a policy to increase the responsibility of managers by strengthening managerial capacities
  • To re-establish businesses and African skill and training centres for the water and electricity industries by pursuing an active policy to recruit young talent, and by organising the passing down of knowledge and giving access to the latest technological evolutions
  • To consolidate the social progress achieved by the company for its employees using a model that is unique in Africa
  • To export these management models to other African countries

Share:

Emerging Capital Partners

Emerging Capital Partners

Emerging Capital Partners (ECP), est l’un des principaux gestionnaires de fonds d’investissement dédiés à l’Afrique avec plus de $1,8 milliards d’actifs sous gestion. Opérant depuis 2001 sur le continent africain, ECP a levé 4 fonds régionaux et 3 fonds panafricains (ECP Africa Fund I, ECP Africa Fund II et Africa ECP Africa Fund III) auprès d’institutions de développements, de fonds souverains et d’investisseurs privés.

Une connaissance privilégiée de l’Afrique

ECP est composé de sept bureaux africains (Tunis, Casablanca, Lagos, Abidjan, Nairobi, Johannesburg, Douala) et compte plus de 30 professionnels de 10 nationalités différentes tous animés par la même passion de l’investissement en Afrique. ECP a réalisé plus de 50 investissements sur le continent dans plus de 40 pays, dans un large éventail de secteurs, notamment l’énergie, les biens de consommation, les télécommunications, les services financiers, les ressources naturelles, l’agriculture et les services publics.

La stratégie d’investissement d’ECP consiste à identifier des entreprises en développement dans un environnement présentant des besoins croissants en infrastructures, face à l’émergence d’une classe moyenne et pouvant bénéficier de l’accélération de l’intégration régionale. Pour ECP, l’opportunité réside dans l’identification de sociétés à fort potentiel de croissance et capables, avec le support financier et technique d’ECP, de créer de la valeur ajoutée sur le continent, d’être à l’origine de progrès techniques, de favoriser le développement de compétences techniques et managériales ou d’être le catalyseur de l’émergence d’une classe d’entrepreneurs africains.

ECP, un partenaire de choix :

  • Des gouvernements : pour les accompagner dans des projets structurants pour l’économie dans le domaine des infrastructures ou de la gestion des services publics. ECP a ainsi investi dans les services de gestion et de distribution d’eau au Maroc, a participé à l’émergence de l’opérateur panafricain Celtel.
  • Des entrepreneurs à la recherche de capitaux pour financer le développement de leurs entreprises afin d’en faire des champions nationaux ou régionaux. ECP a ainsi financé le développement régional du leader de l’assurance NSIA devenu depuis un champion de la banque-assurance. Il a également soutenu la restructuration financière de la première conserverie de thon, Pêche et Froid-SCODI en Afrique subsaharienne aujourd’hui en quête de nouveau marché et a conduit le retournement de la banque Financial Bank devenue Oragroup présente dans 6 pays d’Afrique et affichant aujourd’hui de solides performances.

Les facteurs de différenciation d’ECP et les clés du succès de sa stratégie d’investissement sont :

  • Une connaissance approfondie du continent, de ses besoins, de ses risques et opportunités.
  • Un large réseau construit au fil du temps comprenant des partenaires au développement de l’Afrique : institutions de développement, investisseurs privés, banquier d’affaires, administration, personnalités politiques…
  • Une collaboration étroite avec ses entreprises : la forte présence d’ECP sur le continent africain permet une implication sans relâche aux côtés des sociétés en portefeuille et de prendre part à leur développement.
  • Une éthique professionnelle reposant sur le respect des engagements vis-à-vis des parties prenantes
  • Une démarche de responsabilité sociétale et environnementale dans ses décisions d’investissement mais aussi au sein des entreprises : ECP attache une importance particulière au comportement citoyen des sociétés en portefeuille et les encourage à avoir une politique sociale innovante incluant l’extension de la couverture sociale, la mise en place d’une politique de retraite, la promotion de la femme, la formation…

Actionnaire majoritaire de eranove

En 2009, ECP Africa Fund II, fonds de $523 million, a pris le contrôle du groupe eranove. Avec l’idée de promouvoir un actionnariat local plus important et grâce à l’appui d’un partenaire financier de premier plan, ECP a structuré son investissement par le rachat des participations de Bouygues en partenariat avec le management local, les employés et les investisseurs locaux.

Pour ECP, l’objet de l’acquisition était d’élever eranove au rang de leader dans les secteurs de l’eau et de l’électricité en Afrique de l’Ouest et de mettre au service de cet objectif son expertise en matière de financement ainsi que sa capacité de mobilisation de ressources.

Les différentes étapes du plan d’action élaboré par ECP étaient les suivantes :

  • Fédérer les employés autour d’un but et d’une vision commune et dont les axes prioritaires sont notamment l’amélioration de la qualité du service, la satisfaction client, l’augmentation des rendements, la lutte contre la fraude et la poursuite des politiques de cohésion sociale et de développement durable
  • Construire une démarche de responsabilisation des managers par un renforcement des capacités managériales
  • Restaurer la place des sociétés, comme centres africains de compétence et de formation aux métiers de l’eau et de l’électricité, en menant une politique active de recrutement de jeunes talents et en organisant la transmission du savoir et l’accès aux dernières évolutions technologiques
  • Consolider les avancées sociales réalisées par la société au profit de ses salariés, selon un modèle unique en Afrique
  • Exporter ces modèles de gestion vers d’autres pays africains

Partager: